NOTE: Prior to completing and paying for a Field Day Voucher, check the field day schedule link provided below for class availability.
NEW: If you are 18 years old or older you may complete the online course and receive your Hunter Education certification.
Students must complete the Illinois Online Internet based study portion before attending a Field Day. All students attending a field day will be required to provide the lead instructor a Field Day Voucher from one of the Illinois authorized providers, www.huntercourse.com, or www.hunter-ed.com, and a form of valid identification. Children who do not have their own ID must have parents or guardians show ID on their behalf.
It is the policy of IDNR that youth under the age of ten (10) must be accompanied to and during the safety education courses by an adult or guardian at least sixteen (16) years of age. The educational material is based on a sixth-grade reading level.
Mere attendance of this safety education training and taking a written test will not guarantee the passing of this course. Multiple criteria such as mental and physical competency, the ability to demonstrate and recognize safe procedures, attitude and the maturity level of each individual student will be a factor assessed by the instructors in the final certification process.
Students are required to complete a final written exam on their own abilities, without assistance from parents or guardians, unless other arrangements have been discussed and agreed upon with the class instructors.
The field day class is typically 5 to 7 hours long and will include “hands-on” activities, exercises, discussions and demonstrations targeted at enhancing the student’s skills. The student will also be observed and reviewed by the instructors as they watch for and assess the student’s behavior, communication skills and safety awareness. At every opportunity instructors will emphasize hunter responsibilities, ethics and safety.
This method is not a “short cut” to receiving certification. Experience has shown that each of the class options, traditional or online, will involve a similar amount of time and commitment.
During the field day students can expect to participate in some or more of the following activities:
- Open Discussion of “Hunter Responsibility and Ethics”
- Firearm Handling – 10 Commandments of Safety
- Firearm / Ammunition orientation
- Zones of Fire
- Treestand Safety
- Fall Arrest Systems
- Conservation Police Officer to discuss laws and regulations
- 50 question Hunter Education exam – 80% to pass
Field Day Rules and Expected Behavior
Remember that your Hunter Education Instructor is a volunteer and is donating his or her time at the field day. You will be expected to follow the class rules and show proper behavior. The Instructor reserves the right to dismiss or fail any student for inappropriate behavior or attitude.
Field Day Class Rules
- Prompt Attendance is mandatory
- No firearms will be brought to the class
- Live ammunition or components will not be allowed in class
- Unacceptable behavior will not be tolerated
- Field day participation is required
- Unsafe handling of any firearm can be grounds for failure
- Your involvement in class discussions will help you and others learn
- It is your responsibility to provide proper identification
Pre-registration is required to attend a field day. Note: Field day schedule is here. You must call the number listed on the schedule to register. If you are unable to attend after registering, you must notify the instructors two (2) weeks prior to the class date.
The student should ALWAYS consider current or anticipated weather conditions for the field day and dress appropriately. Proper clothing and footwear are recommended. You are encouraged to bring sunscreen and bug spray.
Field days are typically conducted in rural areas and eating establishments may not be near-by. Lunch may or may not be available at the field day location and students are always encouraged to bring a snack or lunch along with plenty of liquids / water for the field day activities.