Controlled Pheasant Hunting Regulations
Additional Disabled Hunter Regulations
Additional Special Youth Pheasant Hunt Regulations
- Hunting hours are 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. NOTE: On Thanksgiving Day hunting hours are 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
- Reserved permit holders must check-in at the hunter check station on the following areas at the listed times. Reserved permit holders that check-in after the check-in time may not be allowed to hunt if the area's hunter quota has been filled.
7:00-8:00 a.m. - Des Plaines, Eldon Hazlet, Iroquois County, Moraine View & Wayne Fitzgerrell
8:00-8:30 a.m. - Jim Edgar Panther Creek, Johnson Sauk Trail, Kankakee River, Green River & Sand Ridge
- Reserved permit holders are allowed to bring one to three hunting partners at all Department operated areas. NOTE: Hunters must include the number of partners desired when applying for reserved permits.
When daily hunter quotas are not filled, standby permits will be issued by drawing held at the conclusion of check-in time. If daily quotas remain unfilled at the conclusion of the drawing, standby permits are issued on a first-come first-served basis until 12:00 noon unless an earlier time is posted at the area's hunter check station.
- The permit holder must be present to hunt for the partner(s) to hunt.
- Standby hunters must obtain a Daily Usage Stamp from the Department prior to hunting. The Daily Usage Stamp fee is paid at the area on the hunt date. On Nov. 25 and Dec. 29 where applicable, hunters under 18 are not required to obtain a stamp. On Nov. 25 and Dec. 29 each hunter under 18 must be accompanied by a paid adult hunter.
- Hunters under 16 years of age must be accompanied by an adult hunter who is 18 years of age or older.
- Hunters must have a valid Illinois Hunting or Sportsmen's License, unless exempt. Resident hunters born on or after January 1, 1980 must have successfully completed the Hunter Safety Education Course provided by the Department of Natural Resources to obtain their first Hunting or Sportsmen's License or must have an Apprentice Hunting License. Hunters 16 years old or under who will be hunting under the direct supervision of a parent , grandparent or guardian who is 21 years old or older and who has a valid Hunting or Sportsmen's License may hunt with a Youth Hunting License. Hunters may be required to deposit their hunting license at the check station while hunting. Hunters exempt by law from having a hunting license may be required to deposit their F.O.I.D. Card.
- State Habitat Stamps are not required to harvest pheasants on controlled pheasant hunting areas. However, State Habitat Stamps are required when hunting on controlled pheasant hunting areas that allow the harvest of quail, woodcock, Hungarian partridge or rabbits if hunters intend to harvest any of these species.
- On controlled pheasant hunting areas non-hunters are not allowed afield during the controlled pheasant hunting season. There is, however, an exception to this regulation. During the IL Youth Pheasant Hunt, each young hunter is required to be accompanied by a non-hunting supervising adult when afield and may also be accompanied by a non-hunting dog handler.
- FIREARM OWNERS' ID CARD (issued by Illinois State Police): Regardless of who owns the gun, anyone who has a firearm or firearm ammunition in their possession must have in their possession a valid (F.O.I.D.) Card unless (a) A licensed nonresident hunting in Illinois, or (b) Under 21 and under the immediate control of a parent, guardian, or responsible adult who has in their possession a valid F.O.I.D. Card. Only one supervisory adult is required to have a F.O.I.D. Card in their possession, if all hunters under 21 in the party without a F.O.I.D. Card remain under the direct supervision of the supervisory adult possessing the F.O.I.D. Card.
- Daily Limit:
Des Plaines, Eldon Hazlet, Iroquois County, Moraine View & Wayne Fitzgerrell - 2 pheasants either sex
Green River - 2 cock pheasants
Jim Edgar Panther Creek - 2 pheasants either sex and 4 rabbits all season and 8 bobwhite quail - opening day through the Sunday following Thanksgiving Day
Johnson Sauk Trail - 2 pheasants either sex, 8 bobwhite quail, 2 Hungarian partridge, 4 rabbits
Kankakee River & Sand Ridge - 2 pheasants either sex, 8 bobwhite quail, 4 rabbits
- Hunters are required to wear a solid blaze orange cap/hat and upper outer garment displaying at least 400 square inches of solid blaze orange material while hunting. Hunters must also wear a back patch issued by the check station.
- All hunting must be done with shotguns or bow and arrow. Only shot shells with a shot size of No. 5 lead or a nontoxic shot size ballistically equivalent to No. 5 lead or smaller may be used. NOTE: At Chain O'Lakes SP, the Des Plaines CA, the Eldon Hazlet SRA, the Green River CA, Horseshoe Lake SP, the Jim Edgar Panther Creek SF&WA, the Johnson Sauk Trail SRA, the Mackinaw River SF&WA and Wayne Fitzgerrell SP only nontoxic shot approved by the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service may be possessed and only shot shells with a non-toxic shot size ballistically equivalent to No. 5 lead or smaller may be used or in possession. Flu flu arrows only may be used. Nontoxic shot sizes ballistically equivalent to No. 5 lead include the following: a. No. 3 steel or tin; b. No. 4 bismuth; c. No. 5 tungsten-iron, tungsten-polymer, tungsten-matrix; d. No. 6 heavi-shot
- Hunters with previously killed game in possession or in the vehicle must declare it with the person in charge of the area when checking in. Game found in a hunter's possession after the hunt starts will be considered illegally taken if the hunter has not declared it prior to going afield.
- Hunters may not leave the confines of any permit area and return to hunt on the permit area during the same day.
- Hunters are required to have their game birds checked, recorded and banded before leaving the area.
- It is unlawful for any person to possess any alcoholic beverage while in any hunting area for the purpose of hunting.
- The Department reserves the right to cancel a permit and deny any future privileges on the area to anyone violating State or Federal Regulations or indulging in unsportsmanlike activities.
Additional Disabled Hunter Regulations
- Hunting hours are 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM.
- Disabled permit holders must check-in at the area headquarters between 10:30 AM and 11:00 AM.
- Disabled hunters must possess a valid Standing Vehicle Permit.
- Disabled hunters are required to contact the site 2 days prior to the hunt to confirm their attendance on the hunt date.
- Disabled permit holders are allowed to bring one ambulatory hunting partner. NOTE: When applying for reserved permits, hunters must indicate on the application that a partner will be included on the hunt.
Additional Special Illinois Youth Pheasant Hunt Regulations
Back to Top of Page
Stand-by permits will be issued by drawing held at the conclusion of check-in time when daily quotas are not filled.
No Fee Will Be Charged.
Each permit holder MUST be accompanied by a non-hunting supervisory adult who is at least 18 years of age.
Supervisory adults are required to wear a solid blaze orange cap/hat and upper outer garment displaying at least 400 square inches of solid blaze orange material while afield.
- Daily limits: 2 pheasants either sex, with the following exceptions:
Sangchris Lake - statewide limits
Green River - 2 cock pheasants only
Jim Edgar Panther Creek & Sand Ridge - 2 pheasants either sex, 4 rabbits, 8 bobwhite quail
- Non-standard check-in times:
Sangchris Lake - 10:00-10:30 AM
Clinton Lake, Eldon Hazlet, Edward R. Madigan, Johnson Sauk Trail, Mackinaw River, Pere Marquette and the World Shooting and Recreational Center - 7:30-8:00 AM.
- Nonstandard hunting hours:
Sangchris Lake - 11:00 a.m.-4:00 PM
Clinton Lake, Eldon Hazlet, Edward R. Madigan, Johnson Sauk Trail, Mackinaw River, Pere Marquette and the World Shooting and Recreational Center - 1:00-4:00 PM.
- Special Note: The Illinois Youth Pheasant Hunts at Clinton Lake, Eldon Hazlet, Edward R. Madigan, Johnson Sauk Trail, Mackinaw River, Pere Marquette and the World Shooting and Recreational Complex are held in conjunction with Youth Wingshooting Clinics in the morning. Young hunters with a permit for the youth hunt must have successfully completed an approved Hunter Safety Education Course to be eligible to participate in a wingshooting clinic/youth pheasant hunt at the areas listed in this section. To participate in the youth pheasant hunt, young hunters must also participate in the wingshooting clinic. Wingshooting instruction during the clinics will be provided by IDNR & National Sporting Clays Association Certified Wingshooting Instructors. Shotguns, shotshells, clay targets, shooting glasses and hearing protection will be provided for the wingshooting clinics. Shotguns and shotshells will also be provided for the youth hunts as required. Young hunters may bring their own shotgun for both the wingshooting clinic and the youth pheasant hunt.