JULY 20, 2016 171LL. ADM. CODE CH. I, SEC. 715

TITLE 17: CONSERVATION
CHAPTER I: DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
SUBCHAPTER b: FISH AND WILDLIFE

PART 715
THE TAKING OF WILD TURKEYS — FALL GUN SEASON
Section
715.10 Hunting Season, Open Counties and Permit Quotas
715.20 Statewide Turkey Permit Requirements
715.21 Turkey Permit Requirements — Special Hunts
715.25 Turkey Permit Requirements — Landowner/Tenant Permits
715.30 Turkey Hunting Regulations
715.40 Regulations at Various Department-Owned or -Managed Sites

AUTHORITY: Implementing and authorized by Sections 1.3, 1.4, 1.20, 2.9, 2.10, 2.11 and 2.20
of the Wildlife Code [520 ILCS 5/1.3, 1.4, 1.20, 2.9, 2.10, 2.11 and 2.20].

SOURCE: Adopted at 13 Ill. Reg. 14950, effective September 6, 1989; amended at 14 Ill. Reg.
12421, effective July 20, 1990; amended at 15 Ill. Reg. 11618, effective August 2, 1991;
amended at 16 Ill. Reg. 11101, effective June 30, 1992; amended at 17 Ill. Reg. 10858, effective
July 1, 1993; amended at 18 Ill. Reg. 10013, effective June 21, 1994; amended at 19 Ill. Reg.
11806, effective August 3, 1995; amended at 20 Ill. Reg. 10898, effective August 5, 1996;
amended at 21 Ill. Reg. 9110, effective June 26, 1997; amended at 22 1ll. Reg. 14866, effective
August 3, 1998; amended at 23 Ill. Reg. 9091, effective July 28, 1999; amended at 24 Ill. Reg.
8965, effective June 19, 2000; amended at 25 Ill. Reg. 11460, effective August 14, 2001;
amended at 26 Ill. Reg. 13855, effective September 5, 2002; amended at 27 Ill. Reg. 12650,
effective July 21, 2003; amended at 28 Ill. Reg. 11904, effective July 27, 2004; amended at 29
I1l. Reg. 15542, effective September 27, 2005; amended at 29 1ll. Reg. 18938, effective
November 4, 2005; amended at 30 Ill. Reg. 14518, effective August 24, 2006; amended at 31 11l
Reg. 11711, effective July 27, 2007; amended at 32 Ill. Reg. 14830, effective August 27, 2008;
amended at 33 Ill. Reg. 13911, effective September 21, 2009; amended at 34 1ll. Reg. 10814,
effective July 16, 2010; amended at 35 Ill. Reg. 15259, effective September 2, 2011; amended at
37 1ll. Reg. 19283, effective November 14, 2013; amended at 39 Ill. Reg. 10983, effective July
27, 2015; amended at 40 1. Reg. 10654, effective July 20, 2016.

Section 715.10 Hunting Season, Open Counties and Permit Quotas
a) Season: The 9 days beginning on Saturday of the Second complete 2-day

weekend (Saturday and Sunday) after October 10. Hunting outside the set season
dates is a Class B misdemeanor (see 520 ILCS 5/2.9).
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b) Open Counties
OPEN COUNTIES

Adams
Alexander
Brown
Calhoun
Carroll
Cass
Clark
Clay
Crawford
Edwards
Franklin
Fulton
Gallatin
Greene
Hamilton
Hancock
Hardin
Henderson
Jackson
Jasper
Jefferson
Jersey

Jo Daviess
Johnson
Knox
Lawrence
Macoupin
Madison
Marion
Mason
Massac
McDonough
Menard
Mercer
Monroe
Morgan
Perry

Pike
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c)

Pope
Pulaski
Randolph
Richland
Rock Island
Saline
Schuyler
Scott
Stephenson
Union
Wabash
Warren
Washington
Wayne
White
Whiteside
Williamson
Winnebago

Permit quotas shall be set by the Department of Natural Resources on a county or
special hunt area basis.

(Source: Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 19283, effective November 14, 2013)

Section 715.20 Statewide Turkey Permit Requirements

a)

b)

To take, or attempt to take, a wild turkey, Illinois residents must first obtain a
"Wild Turkey Hunting Permit" from the Department of Natural Resources for a
fee of $15. Lifetime licenses issued after August 15, 2006 shall not qualify a non-
resident of Illinois for a resident turkey permit. Non-resident turkey hunters shall
be charged the maximum fee allowed by Section 2.11 of the Wildlife Code [520
ILCS 5/2.11] for each turkey hunting permit. All hunters, except those exempted
by Section 3.1 of the Wildlife Code [520 ILCS 5/3.1], are required to obtain a
hunting license before hunting wild turkey. Permits are issued for a specific
county or area and are valid only in the county or area designated on the permit.
Hunting without a valid turkey permit is a Class B misdemeanor (see 520 ILCS
5/2.9). Applications for wild turkey permits shall be completed by applying on-
line at www.dnr.state.il.us or by calling DNR-Direct License sales at 1-888-
6PERMIT (1-888-673-7648).

Applicants must supply all information necessary to complete the application.
Incomplete applications shall be rejected and fees returned. Each applicant must
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d)

9)

submit payment for his/her individual application at the time of application. Not
more than 6 applications may be submitted for group hunters. Applicants
submitting applications within three weeks prior to the season shall not be
guaranteed receipt of permit by start of season.

Applications shall be accepted from residents only from the date on which they
became available through the first Monday in July. Permits are not transferable
and refunds shall not be granted. Permits shall be allocated in a computerized
drawing to be held in Springfield. Applications received after the first Monday in
July shall not be included in the drawing.

Permits not issued during the first computerized drawing shall be available in a
second computerized lottery drawing. Applications for this drawing will be
accepted through the seventh Monday after the initial lottery deadline.
Applications received after this date will not be included in the drawing. All
hunters not receiving a permit in the first computerized drawing and non-residents
may apply at this time for the available permits. Illinois residents will be given
preference for permits allocated in the second lottery drawing.

Permits remaining after the two lotteries will be available in a drawing that will
have an application deadline of the fourth Monday after the second lottery
deadline. Applications received after this date will not be included in the
drawing. This lottery is open to hunters applying for their first and/or second
permits. Hunters may obtain a maximum of two permits for the fall gun season.

A $3 service fee shall be charged for replacement permits issued by the
Department, except when permits are lost in the mail, no charge will be made.

It shall be unlawful to:

1) Submit applications before the second computerized lottery drawing for
more than one permit for the same person. Violation is a Class B
misdemeanor (see 520 ILCS 5/2.9);

2) Apply for or receive more than two permits for the fall gun turkey season.
Violation is a Class B misdemeanor (see 520 ILCS 5/2.9); or

3) Provide false and/or deceptive information on a permit application form.
In addition to criminal charges, individuals found guilty of violating this
Section shall have their application rejected, permit revoked, and fees
forfeited. Violation is a Class A misdemeanor (see 520 ILCS 5/2.38).
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(Source: Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. 10983, effective July 27, 2015)
Section 715.21 Turkey Permit Requirements — Special Hunts

Special hunt sites are defined as those sites which are owned or controlled by agencies/entities
other than the Department, or sites at which the Department only controls a portion of the
property designated for hunting, which issue hunting permits through the Department of Natural
Resources' Permit Office. The Permit Office issues turkey hunting permits for sites listed below:

Crab Orchard National Wildlife Refuge (Williamson County)
(Source: Amended at 34 1ll. Reg. 10814, effective July 16, 2010)
Section 715.25 Turkey Permit Requirements — Landowner/Tenant Permits

a) The "immediate family" of a landowner or tenant is defined as, and limited to, the
spouse, children and parents permanently residing on the same property as the
landowner or tenant.

b) A tenant for the purpose of this Part is one who rents 40 acres or more land for
commercial agricultural purposes under an agreement with a landowner.
Commercial agriculture shall be defined as utilization of land for the raising of
hay, grain crops or livestock for profit. A hunting rights lease, or other non-
agricultural lease, is not valid for a landowner or tenant permit.

C) Resident landowners who own 40 acres or more of land, and resident tenants
renting or leasing 40 acres or more of commercial agricultural land, and members
of their immediate family may apply for one free turkey permit for their property
only in counties open for turkey hunting. Non-resident Illinois landowners of 40
or more acres of land and members of their immediate family are eligible to
receive a permit for their property only for a fee of $37.50. All
landowners/tenants who do not reside on the property must possess a valid
hunting license.

d) Applicants for Landowner/Tenant permits must apply using the official
application form. Applications for Landowner/Tenant wild turkey permits must
be submitted to:

Illinois Department of Natural Resources
POH Fall Shotgun Wild Turkey Permit
One Natural Resources Way

P.O. Box 19227
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9)

h)

Springfield IL 62794-9227

Applications for Landowner/Tenant permits will be accepted as soon as they are
made available by the Department. The application deadline for all
Landowner/Tenant permit applications (both renewal and first time) is October 1.

Landowners or tenants are not required to participate in the public drawing for
permits and are not counted towards the total number of permits issued for a
particular county.

Recipients of Landowner/Tenant permits to hunt their owned or leased property
may apply for one additional county-wide permit in the third (final) lottery
drawing from any permits remaining. Fees for this additional permit are set in
Section 715.20(a).

Proof of ownership for all landowner or tenant applications must be provided by
one of the following methods:

1) Submittal of a copy of property deed, recorded/file stamped by the County
Recorder or County Clerk;

2) Submittal of a copy of contract for deed, recorded/file stamped by the
County Recorder or County Clerk;

3) Submittal of a copy of the most recent real estate tax statement for the
property that identifies the property acreage (upon which the landowner's
name appears as landowner or the person signing the application appears
as landowner);

4) Submittal of a copy of a current Farm Service Agency 156EZ form; or

5) Submittal of a copy of a trust agreement which must indicate that the trust
owns at least 40 acres and the applicant is a current income beneficiary of
the trust.

If applying for a tenant permit, applicants are required to submit, in addition to the
landowner certification and proof of ownership, a copy of one of the following:

1) A copy of a lease or a rental agreement, file stamped as recorded by the
County Recorder or County Clerk, covering the current year. The
agreement must contain the landowner's signature, tenant's signature,
description of monetary consideration, specified period of the lease and
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)

K)

2)

acreage involved, and a statement that the lease is for agricultural
purposes; or

A copy of the current Farm Service Agency 156EZ form.

A hunting rights lease or other non-agricultural lease is not valid as a basis for
obtaining a landowner or tenant permit.

If the property is owned or rented by more than one person: Only one landowner
(and immediate family) or one tenant (and immediate family) will be issued a
permit for every 40 acres of owned or rented land. For example, if 3 persons own
90 acres, only 2 of the landowners and their immediate family may receive turkey
permits.

Shareholder/Member/Partner Landowner Permits

1)

Bona fide equity shareholders of corporations, bona fide equity members
of limited liability companies and bona fide equity partners of a general or
limited partnership owning 40 or more acres of land in a county may apply
for one permit to hunt the corporation, limited liability company or
partnership lands only. Only one permit per 40 acres, for a maximum
number of 15 permits per county, shall be issued based on ownership of
lands by corporations and limited liability companies. Only one permit
per 40 acres, for a maximum of 3 permits per county, shall be issued based
on ownership of lands by partnerships. Lands leased to corporations,
limited liability companies or partnerships shall not be considered as a
basis for a permit for the shareholders/members/partners of the lessee.
Lands held in trust by corporations, limited liability companies or
partnerships shall not be considered as a basis for a permit by the
shareholders/members/partners of the trustee. If application is made for a
permit based upon lands owned by the corporation, limited liability
company or partnership, a duly authorized officer of the corporation,
limited liability company or partnership must sign a notarized statement
authorizing the applicant to hunt on the corporate, company or partnership
lands for which a permit is being requested. This statement must identify
the applicant as a bona fide equity shareholder, member or partner as
defined in subsections (1)(2), (3) and (4), identify authorization to hunt and
identify that no more than 15 authorizations will be requested per county
for the corporation, limited liability company or partnership lands. This
document must be attached to the application upon submittal to the Permit
Office. The shareholder/member/partner turkey permit shall be free to
resident shareholders/members/partners and the cost to nonresident
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2)

3)

4)

shareholders and members shall be $37.50. Nonresident partners are not
eligible to receive permits for partnership lands.

Bona fide equity shareholder means an individual who:

A)

B)

purchased, for market price, publicly sold stock shares in a
corporation; purchased shares of a privately-held corporation for a
value equal to the percentage of the appraised value of the
corporate assets represented by the ownership in the corporation;
or is a member of a closely-held family-owned corporation and has
purchased or been gifted with shares of stock in the corporation
accurately reflecting his or her percentage of ownership; and

intends to retain the ownership of the shares of stock for at least 5
years.

Bona fide equity member means an individual who:

A)

B)

C)

became a member upon the formation of the limited liability
company, or has purchased a distributional interest in an Illinois
limited liability company for a value equal to the percentage of the
appraised value of the limited liability company assets represented
by the distributional interest in the limited liability company and
subsequently became a member of the company pursuant to Article
30 of the Limited Liability Company Act;

intends to retain the membership for at least 5 years; and
is a member of a foreign LLC who includes a file-stamped copy of

his or her current annual filing with the Illinois Secretary of State
as part of the application.

Bona fide equity partner means an individual who:

A)

B)

became a partner, either general or limited, upon the formation of a
partnership or limited partnership, or has purchased, acquired, or
been gifted a partnership interest accurately representing his or her
percentage distributional interest in the profits, losses, and assets of
a partnership or limited partnership;

intends to retain ownership of the partnership interest for at least 5
years; and
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n)

C) is a resident of Illinois.

For the purposes of calculating acreage under this Section, the Department shall,
after determining the total acreage of the applicable tract or tracts of land, round
remaining fractional portions of an acre greater than or equal to half of an acre
up to the next whole acre [520 ILCS 5/2.26].

Providing false or deceptive information is a Class A misdemeanor (see 520 ILCS
5/2.38).

(Source: Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. 10983, effective July 27, 2015)

Section 715.30 Turkey Hunting Regulations

a)

Violation of this Section is a Class B misdemeanor (see 520 ILCS 5/2.9), except
that hunting prior to %2 hour before sunrise or after %2 hour after sunset is a Class
A misdemeanor with a minimum $500 fine and a maximum $5,000 fine in
addition to other statutory penalties (see 520 ILCS 5/2.33(y)). Itis unlawful:

1) to use live or electronic turkey decoys, recorded calls, dogs or bait. An
area is considered as baited during the presence of and for 10 consecutive
days following the removal of bait;

2) to take, or attempt to take, more than one wild turkey per valid permit
(either sex may be harvested);

3) to use any weapon except a shotgun. #4 shot is the largest and #7v is the
smallest size shot that may be legally used;

4) to hunt except from %2 hour before sunrise to sunset during each day of the
season;

5) for any person to hunt wild turkeys without having a signed Wild Turkey
Hunting Permit in possession, except that a person without a weapon may
accompany a turkey hunter as a caller or observer;

6) to transport or leave a wild turkey without first affixing the adhesive-
backed turkey permit securely around the leg. Immediately upon kill and
before the turkey is moved, transported or field dressed, the hunter must
cut out the designated notch on the leg tag to invalidate it, and the tag must
be affixed to the turkey;
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7) for any person to shoot a wild turkey while it is in a tree before 7:00 a.m.;
and

8) to possess while in the field, during turkey season, any turkey permit
issued to another person. (Permits are non-transferrable.)

b) Successful hunters must register their harvest by 10:00 p.m. on the same calendar
day the turkey was taken by calling the toll-free telephone check-in system at 1-
866-ILCHECK or by accessing the on-line check-in system at
www.dnr.illinois.gov. Hunters must provide all information requested by the
check-in system, and will be provided with a confirmation number to verify that
they checked in their harvest. The confirmation number must be written by the
hunter onto the leg tag. The leg tag must remain attached to the leg of the turkey
until it is at the legal residence of the person who legally took or possessed the
turkey and the turkey has been checked in. The turkey must remain whole (or
field dressed) until it has been checked in.

C) Failure to comply with the regulations in this Part is a Class B misdemeanor (see
520 ILCS 5/2.9).

(Source: Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. 10983, effective July 27, 2015)
Section 715.40 Regulations at VVarious Department-Owned or -Managed Sites
a) Statewide regulations shall apply for the following sites:

Horseshoe Lake State Park (Madison County) — Gabaret, Mosenthein and
Chouteau Island Unit

Kaskaskia River State Fish and Wildlife Area (except that area north of
Hwy. 154, east of the Kaskaskia River and south of Risdon School Road
and Beck's Landing access road)

Mississippi River State Fish and Waterfowl Management Area (Pools 25
and 26)

Mississippi River Pools 16, 17, 18
Mississippi River Pools 21, 22, 24

Rend Lake Project Lands
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b)

Wise Ridge State Natural Area
Statewide regulations shall apply except that all hunters must check in, check out,
and report harvest at those sites listed below. Quotas, where listed, shall be on a
first come-first served basis. Hunters shall not be allowed to sign in prior to 4
a.m. each day of the season.

Cache River State Natural Area (Johnson County portion only)

Cape Bend State Fish and Wildlife Area

Cypress Pond State Natural Area

Deer Pond State Natural Area

Devil's Island State Fish and Wildlife Area

Ferne Clyffe State Park

Fort de Chartres State Historic Site (muzzleloading shotguns only)

Giant City State Park

Horseshoe Lake State Conservation Area (public hunting area except for
controlled goose hunting area)

Kinkaid Lake State Fish and Wildlife Area
Skinner Farm State Habitat Area

Trail of Tears State Forest

Turkey Bluffs State Fish and Wildlife Area

Union County State Fish and Wildlife Area — Firing Line Management
Unit Only

Statewide regulations shall apply except that all hunting is allowed by
site-specific permit only. The Department of Natural Resources allocates permits
for these areas through the lottery process set forth in Section 715.20. This permit
is only valid for the specific site indicated on the permit.
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Apple River Canyon State Park — Salem and Thompson Units (windshield
card required)

Crawford County State Fish and Wildlife Area (windshield card required)
Embarras River Bottoms State Habitat Area

Flag Pond State Natural Area

Hamilton County State Conservation Area (windshield card required)

Jim Edgar Panther Creek State Fish and Wildlife Area (windshield card
required)

Meeker State Habitat Area (windshield card required)

Newton Lake State Fish and Wildlife Area (windshield card required)
Sam Parr State Fish and Wildlife Area (windshield card required)

Sand Ridge State Forest (windshield card required)

Ten Mile Creek State Fish and Wildlife Area (windshield card required)

Witkowsky State Wildlife Area (windshield card required)

d) Statewide regulations shall apply except hunters shall register and report their
harvest through the use of windshield cards as specified in 17 Ill. Adm. Code

510.10.

Argyle Lake State Park

Big River State Forest

Copperhead Hollow State Fish and Wildlife Area
Dog Island State Wildlife Management Area
Hanover Bluff State Natural Area

Nauvoo State Park (Max Rowe Unit only)
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Pere Marquette State Park (east of Graham Hollow Road)

Rall Woods State Natural Area

Ray Norbut State Fish and Wildlife Area

Ray Norbut State Fish and Wildlife Area — Dutch Creek Unit

Sahara Woods State Fish and Wildlife Area

Saline County State Conservation Area

Siloam Springs State Park (sign in/sign out required)

Spoon River State Forest

Tapley Woods State Natural Area

Weinberg-King State Park

Weinberg-King State Park — Cecil White Unit

Weinberg-King State Park — Scripps Unit

Weinberg-King State Park — Spunky Bottoms Unit

Winston Tunnel State Natural Area

e) Special program for hunters with disabilities. Statewide regulations shall apply

unless designated otherwise by site regulations. Only disabled persons
participating in the site's firearm deer hunt are eligible to participate. This hunt
will run concurrent with the site's firearm deer hunt (refer to 17 I11l. Adm. Code
650.67 for hunt dates). Permits will be $15 each; site specific for Rock Cut;
issued at the site during check in for firearm deer hunting. Any additional
availability will be publicly announced.

Rock Cut State Park

f) Violation of a site specific regulation is a Class B misdemeanor (see 520 ILCS
5/2.9).



JULY 20, 2016 171LL. ADM. CODE CH. I, SEC. 715

(Source: Amended at 40 Ill. Reg. 10654, effective July 20, 2016)



