Discounts for Senior Citizens, Disabled Persons, Disabled
Veterans, Prisoners of War Special Armed Forces.

SENIOR

DISABLED

VETERANS

RETURN TO CAMPING FEE SCHEDULE

SENIOR CITIZENS, WHO ARE ILLINOIS RESIDENTS, WISHING TO CAMP AT CLASS AA, CLASS A, CLASS A-P,

CLASS B/E, B/E-P, OR CLASS CAMPSITES:

¢ On Monday thru Thursday, lllinois residents 62 years and older will be charged ONE HALF the
regular camping fee plus the $10.00 utility fee (AA, A, A-P, B/E, and B/E-P only). Class B/S, B/S-P
do not pay the utility fee.

¢ On Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, Illinois residents 62 years and older will be charged the FULL
CAMPING FEE plus the $10.00 utility fee (A, AA, A-P, B/E and B/E-P only). Class B/S, B/S-P do
not pay utility fee.

SENIOR CITIZENS, WHO ARE ILLINOIS RESIDENTS, WISHING TO CAMP AT CLASS C OR CLASS D

CAMPSITES:

¢ On Monday thru Thursday, lllinois residents 62 years and older will be charged NO CAMPING
FEE.

¢ On Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, lllinois residents 62 years and older will be charged the FULL
CAMPING FEE.



ILLINOIS RESIDENTS WITH A CLASS 2 OR 2A DISABILITY WISHING TO CAMP AT CLASS A, CLASS AA, CLASS

A-P, CLASS B/E, CLASS B/E-P OR CLASS B/S, B/S-P CAMPSITES (IDNR Sites requires lllinois Residents to
possess a Class 2 or 2a disability card in order to be eligible for discounts

¢ On Monday thru Thursday, Illinois residents with a Class 2 or 2A disability will be charged ONE
HALF the regular camping fee plus the $10.00 utility fee (A, AA, A-P, B/E and B/E-P only).

¢ On Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, lllinois residents with a Class 2 or 2A disability will be charged
the FULL CAMPING FEE plus the $10.00 utility fee (A, AA, A-P, B/E and B/E-P only).

ILLINOIS RESIDENTS WITH A CLASS 2 OR 2A DISABILITY WISHING TO CAMP AT CLASS C OR CLASS D (Both

without access to electric and shower) CAMPSITES (IDNR Sites requires Illinois Residents to possess a
Class 2 or 2a disability card in order to be eligible for discounts)

¢ No Camping Fee is charged any day of the week.

ELIGIBILITY-CAMPING DISCOUNTS FOR THE DISABLED

Who is Eligible?

Individuals who have a Class 2 or Class 2A disability, as defined in the lllinois Identification Card Act, are
eligible for the camping fee discounts as described in the previous section. Individuals who have a Class
1 or Class 1A disability are not eligible for camping fee discounts.

What is Needed?

In order to receive the camping fee discounts for the disabled, an individual must possess an lllinois
Disabled Person's Identification Card which provides the classification of the individual's disability. In
order to receive the camping fee discounts, the card must be presented to park staff in charge of writing

camping permits.
Where to Apply for the lllinois Disabled Person's ID Card?

Individuals wishing to apply for an lllinois Disabled Person's Identification Card can apply at any
Secretary of State's Driver Services Facility. There is no fee for the Disabled ID Card.



http://www.ilsos.gov/facilityfinder/facility

The Secretary of State's computer system has a 3 digit space that they have to fill in all three spaces
when they are issuing these cards to disabled persons. The first digit is for the type of disability and will
be a "P" for Physical, "H" for Hearing, "V" for Vision, "M" for Mental, or "D" for Developmental. The
second digit is for the class of disability and will either be a "1" or a "2". The third digit is for the letter
"A" when a person has a Class 1A or 2A disability. If they have a Class 1 or 2 disability, the computer still
requires that the third digit be entered so the Secretary of State employee typically enters a "0" in the
third space

IF THE NUMBER "2" APPEARS IN THE CLASSIFICATION DESIGNATION ON THE SECRETARY OF STATE
DISABLED ID CARD, THIS PERSON IS ELIGIBLE TO RECEIVE WHATEVER DISCOUNT THAT APPLIES TO
THEM. I.E. P2A, M2A, P20, WOULD ALL BE ELIGIBLE BECAUSE THE "2" APPEARS. IF A "1" APPEARS IN THE
CLASSIFICATION, THEY ARE NOT ELIGIBLE. I.E. P1A, V1A, D10 WOULD ALL NOT BE ELIGIBLE BECAUSE THE
"1" APPEARS.

A DISABLED VETERAN OR FORMER PRISONER OF WAR OR IL VETERANS WITH THE SPECIAL ARMED

FORCES PASS WISHING TO CAMP AT CLASS A, CLASS AA, CLASS A-P OR CLASS B/E, B/E-P CAM

¢ On any day of the week, Disabled Veterans or Former Prisoners of War will be charged NO
CAMPING FEE BUT WILL BE CHARGED THE $10.00 UTILITY FEE.

DISABLED VETERAN OR FORMER PRISONER OF WAR OR IL VETERANS WITH THE SPECIAL ARMED

FORCES PASS WISHING TO CAMP AT CLASS B/S, B/S-P CLASS C, OR CLASS D CAMPSI

¢ On any day of the week, Disabled Veterans or Former Prisoners of War will be charged NO
CAMPING FEE.



ELIGIBILITY-CAMPING & SHELTER FEE DISCOUNTS FOR A DISABLED VETERAN OR FORMER PRISONER

OF WAR

Who is Eligible?

Every Veteran who is a resident of lllinois and Disabled by the permanent loss of use of a leg or both legs
or an arm or both arms or any combination thereof, or any person who is severely disabled as to be
unable to move without the aid of crutches or a wheelchair; or is receiving 100% service connected
disability compensation benefits either from the Veterans Administration or military disability retired
pay (other than TDRL, Temporary Disability Retired List); or is a former prisoner of war as identified by
the Veterans Administration or other United States governmental agency.

The immediate family (spouse, minor children, or grandchildren under 18 years old) of a veteran, when
accompanied by the veteran, is eligible for camping fee discounts.

What is needed?

In order to receive the camping fee discounts for disabled veterans or former prisoners of war, an
individual must possess a Department of Veterans Affairs Disability Certification Card. In order to receive
the camping fee discounts, the Disability Certification Card must be presented to park staff in charge of
writing camping permits.

Where to Apply for the Department of Veteran's Affaires Disability Certification Card?

Veterans wishing to apply for a Veterans Disability Certification Card may apply at any of the lllinois
Department of Veterans Affairs field offices throughout the State. The veteran must provide proof
consisting of documentation from the Veterans Administration, Department of Defense, Military
Personnel Records Center or other federal agency in order to received the Disability Certification Card.
The disabled veteran or former prisoner of war will be given the left side of the card while the right side
of the cad is sent to the Department of Veterans Affairs central office to be used as the master copy.

Follow this link for a list of Veterans' Affairs offices



http://www.illinois.gov/veterans/Pages/default.aspx

FOR THOSE DISABLEDVETERAN’S POW- SHELTER RESERVATIONS

¢ lllinois residents who are veterans and disabled or a former prisoner of war shall be exempt
from shelter reservation fees.

Where Do | Apply for the lllinois Disabled person's ID Card?

Individuals wishing to apply for an Illinois Disabled Person's Identification Card can apply at any
Secretary of State's Driver Services Facility. There is no fee for the Disabled ID card.

Disabled Veteran?

The State of lllinois grants Free hunting and fishing licenses to veterans who: 1. have a service
connected disability (10% and up), 2. are in receipt of total Veterans' Administration (VA) disability
pension, 3. are in receipt of military disability retirement pay and can present a letter from the
Veteran's Administration showing the veteran would be entitled to VA compensation at a rate of 10% or
greater if military pay was waived.

Not Eligible For Free Hunting and Fishing License: Former prisoners of war without a service-
connected disability or who are not receiving a disability pension.

Laws Affecting Veterans

January 17, 1996
Camping and Admission Fee Exemption at State Parks
Purpose

To provide an exemption from camping and park fees in State parks under the control of the Illinois
Department of Natural Resources for eligible veterans and immediate family when accompanied by
veteran (spouse, minor children or grandchildren under 18 years).

Eligibility
Every veteran who is a resident of lllinois and:

Disabled by the permanent use of a leg or both legs or an arm or both arms or any combination thereof,
or any person who is so severely disabled as to be unable to move without the aid of crutches or a



wheelchair; or Is receiving 100% service connected disability compensation benefits either from the
Veterans Administration or military disability retired pay (other than TDRL, Temporary Disability Retired
List); or Is a former prisoner of war as identified by the Veterans Administration or other United States
governmental agency.

Issue Procedure

The Department shall issue a certification to qualifying veterans upon receiving proof of the veterans
eligibility as listed above. Proof can consist of documentation from the US Department of Veterans'
Affairs, Department of Defense, Military Personnel Records Center or other federal agency. When
completing the form, be sure all entries are filled in, the signature blocks are signed, and the veterans
card is notarized. The left side is detached and given to the veteran. The right side is sent to Central
Office to be used as the master copy. You may annotate the card issue on the 503, inside of the claim
folder, or by other means, which records the date of card issuance.

EXAMPLE

DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS DISABILITY CERTIFICATION

THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT

IS A RESIDENT OF ILLINOIS AND DISABLED ACCORDING
TO 20 ILCS 2805 & 2805/5, ILLINOIS REVISED STATUTES

AND IS EXEMPT FOR ALL CAMPING AND ADMISSION FEES IN PARKS UNDER THE CONTROL OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

SIGNATURE S/O, DVA

IL 497-0053 (JUNE 98)



CAMPING FEE VERIFICATION

NAME:

ADDRESS:

CITY:

COUNTY:

DOB: SS#

C#: DVA#

ELIGIBILITY:

SIGNATURE OF VETERAN

SIGNATURE OF S/O

Special Pass Available for lllinois Resident Armed Forces

Press release September 15, 2005

SPRINGFIELD - The lllinois Department of Natural Resources (IDNR) is offering an Armed Forces Special
Pass to military members who live in Illinois and who have served abroad, including guard or reserve
members called to active duty. The special pass provides camping, fishing and hunting fee exemptions
for qualified military members, guard and reserve members who can apply within two years of their
return from abroad or release from mobilization.

Governor Rod R. Blagojevich signed legislation authorizing the IDNR to provide the fee exemptions,
acknowledging the contributions of lllinois residents who are returning from service abroad or who were



mobilized by the President as an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces, the lllinois
National Guard, or the Reserves of the United States Armed Forces.

The Armed Forces Special Pass provides qualifying military members, and guard and reserve members
who were mobilized, to camp at IDNR campgrounds (camper responsible for utility, rent-a-tent and
cabin fees) free of charge. The pass also offers a combined Sportsman’s License and Habitat Stamp for
hunting and fishing, and an archery or firearm deer permit if requested and available.

Military members are eligible for free sport fishing, hunting and camping for one year for each year (and
portion of one year) served.

To receive an Armed Forces Special Pass from the IDNR, qualifying military members must appear in
person at the Illinois Department of Natural Resources headquarters, One Natural Resources Way,
Springfield, within two years of their return from abroad or release from mobilization, provide
verification of dates of service, and provide a photo ID.



