Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Utility Links

​​​​​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Breadcrumb

  1. Illinois DNR
  2. Realty Environmental Planning

Realty and Environmental Planning

 

The Office of Realty and Environmental Planning (OREP), is responsible for a variety of review, grant, acquisition, coordination and support functions through its three divisions, the Division of Ecosystems and Environment, the Division of Realty and Planning, and the Division of Concession and Lease Management.

                      

 Photos by Lori Indovina Valus, McHenry, IL 

 

The following is an program contact list, followed by a description of each division within the Office

 

Office of Realty & Environmental Planning  Connie Waggoner, Director

connie.waggoner@illinois.gov

Ecosystems & Environment Keith Shank, Acting Division Manager keith.shank@illinois.gov
Cultural Resources Dawn Cobb dawn.cobb@illinois.gov

​CERP, EcoCAT & Environmental Reporter

Closely Related Entities

Comprehensive Environmental
Review Program (CERP)
​Rich Lewis rich.lewis@illinois.gov
EcoCAT (mapping tool) ​Heather Ryan heather.ryan@illinois.gov
​Rich Lewis rich.lewis@illinois.gov
Transportation Infrastructure Sheldon Fairfield sheldon.fairfield@illinois.gov
Interagency Review Sheldon Fairfield sheldon.fairfield@illinois.gov
​Local Governments ​Natalia Jones natalia.jones@illinois.gov
​IEPA Permits (Water) ​Natalia Jones natalia.jones@illinois.gov
​IEPA Permits (Air; Land) ​Keith Shank keith.shank@illinois.gov
​Power lines/ Wind Farms ​Keith Shank keith.shank@illinois.gov

​Corps of Engineers Ofc.

of Water Resources Permit Review  

Nathan Grider​ nathan.grider@illinois.gov
Wetland/Pipelines ​Pat Malone pat.malone@illinois.gov
Realty
Realty Pat Brannan, Acting Division Manager pat.brannan@illinois.gov
Land & Water Reports Bob Spencer robert.spencer@illinois.gov
​Land Offers ​Lisa Dowson lisa.dowson@illinois.gov
Appraiser ​Tab Bumgardner tab.bumgardner@illinois.gov
​Negotiator ​Omer Moore omer.moore@illinois.gov
Surveys and Plats ​Don Moles don.moles@illinois.gov
Abby Bybee abby.bybee@illinois.gov
Titles/Closings ​Bob Spencer robert.spencer@illinois.gov
​Planning ​Vacant
Greenways and Trails ​Amy Madigan amy.madigan@illinois.gov
​Region 1 Landscape Architect ​George Bellovics george.bellovics@illinois.gov
Region 2 Landscape Architect ​Vacant
​Region 3 Landscape Architect ​Vacant/Acting Louis Yockey louis.yockey@illinois.gov
Region 4 Landscape Architect ​Vacant/Acting Michael Rhodes michael.w.rhodes@illinois.gov
​Region 5 Landscape Architect ​Ned Enrietto ned.enrietto@illinois.gov
Concession & Lease Mgt. Bill Taft, Division Manager bill.taft@illinois.gov
Farm Lease Manager Marilyn McKirgan marilyn.mckirgan@illinois.gov
State Park Concession Lisa Wright lisa.wright@illinois.gov
Lodges Lisa Wright lisa.wright@illinois
 
 
 Ecosystems and Environment is responsible for implementation of the environmental consultation process (threatened and endangered species, wetlands, natural areas, review of DNR projects). Follow this link for more information on Threatened and Endangered Species
 
 Realty provides real estate appraisal and acquisition assistance to the Department's grant programs. It provides major technical assistance to other Offices, Divisions and Sections within the Department related to land issues, such as the State of Illinois Open Space Land Acquisition & Development Grant Program (OSLAD) and Federal Land & Water Conservation Fund Grant Program (LAWCON or LWCF).
 
  • Featured Acquisition: Black Crown Marsh is a premier 350-acre wetland site near Moraine Hills S.P. in McHenry County. The marsh provides habitat for 8 endangered or threatened species of wetland dependent birds. This acquisition is a partnership with Corlands/Openlands, Land & Water Conservation Fund and private donation through the Illinois Conservation Foundation.     
 
Planning is responsible for outdoor recreation planning, program administration and project planning/coordination, and for acquiring all real estate used by the Department for recreation, bikeway, natural areas, wildlife habitat, waterfowl, greenways and open space programs. In addition, the division co-sponsors conferences and workshops, provides staff support to the Illinois Greenways and Trails Council, reviews projects through the Recreational Trails Program and the Greenways and Trails Planning Assistance Program, and produces the State Comprehensive Outdoor Recreation Plan (SCORP).  
                                                                             
  
Concession and Lease Management is responsible for administering concession lease agreements covering concession operations on DNR lands such as State Park Lodging, food/refreshment sales, watercraft rentals, golf course operations, and horse riding stables. In addition, the division administers legal agreements providing operational activities such as land leases for peripheral or buffer lands and buildings made available for selected uses without adverse impacts to conservation of the natural resources or management of recreational programs. As needed, the division handle utility rights of way to accommodate utility developments which must cross state property; special permits for temporary use or access across DNR land for construction access, resource management activities, or other one-time use; annexation of portions of DNR property to adjacent communities for expansion of public services; and management agreements with other agencies of local, state, or federal government