Skip to Main Content

Breadcrumb

What You Need to Register and Title Your Watercraft 

All watercraft other than non-powered watercraft on the waters within the jurisdiction of this State shall be registered and titled.

State law requires that the purchaser of a powered watercraft shall, within 15 days after purchase, make application to the Department for registration/title. Watercraft purchased from a dealer, the dealer must within 15 days mail or deliver the application to the Department.

No titles, registration cards, and/or decals are issued over the counter at any Natural Resources Offices. Applications are processed by mail at the Springfield Office.
 
Transactions that Require a Registration/Title Application Form

To apply for one of the following transactions you must complete a watercraft registration title application form and submit it with required documents and fee(s). Please refer to the instruction page of the watercraft registration/title application form for fees, and the "tax requirement on watercraft" information listed below.

  • New Registration / Title - New watercraft and watercraft previously issued an out-of-state registration/title.
  • Transfer / Renewal - Transferring ownership of a watercraft currently issued an Illinois title/registration.
  • Renew - your current watercraft registration, or renew your registration online or by phone at 1-866-867-3542.
  • Duplicate Title - To replace one which is destroyed, lost or stolen.
  • Corrected Title - To correct information, remove an owner, or add a lienholder.
  • Title Search - To obtain owner/lienholder information on a watercraft.
  • Duplicate Registration Card - To replace one which has been destroyed, lost or stolen.
  • Corrected Registration Card - To correct information on your current registration card such as change of address.
  • Duplicate Decals - To replace ones that have been destroyed, stolen or lost.
  • United State Coast Guard Documented Vessels - If your watercraft has been issued a 
    certificate of documentation



    Watercraft Fee Schedule (3 year registration – Registrations expire June 30.)

     Class
    New and
    Transfer Renewal
    Class 1 - All powered Watercraft less than 16 ft. except non-powered $28.00
    Class 2 - 16 ft. to less than 26 ft. $60.00
    Class 3 - 26 ft. to less than 40 ft. $160.00
    Class 4 - 40 ft. and over         $210.00

    New Watercraft –  Class 1 (EXCEPT jet skis/PWCs) - purchased from an Illinois dealer or retailer 
  • Completed watercraft application form – check the NEW box
  • Original Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin
  • Check or money order payable to IDNR (see fee chart)
  • No tax return required however dealers may submit ST-556 tax forms with the watercraft application form

New Watercraft – Class 1 (jet skis/PWCs), Class 2, 3, 4 - purchased from an Illinois dealer or retailer 
  • Completed watercraft application form – check the NEW box
  • Original Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin
  • Check or money order payable to IDNR (see fee chart)
  • Dealer - ST-556 tax form;  retailer - RUT-25 tax form and bill of sale
  • Check or money order payable to Dept of Revenue for tax amount due

New Watercraft – ALL Watercraft Class Types purchased from an OUT-OF-STATE DEALER/RETAILER
  • Completed watercraft application form – check the NEW box
  • Original Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin
  • Check or money order payable to IDNR (see fee chart)
  • RUT-25  tax form
  • Copy of Bill of sale or purchase agreement
  • Check or money order payable to Dept of Revenue for tax amount due

Used Watercraft - currently issued an Illinois registration number - Class 1 (EXCEPT jet skis/PWCs) – purchased from an Illinois dealer or retailer 
  • Completed watercraft application form – check TRANSFER/RENEWAL box
  • Original Illinois watercraft title OR;  
  • Power of attorney form and if applicable, lien release letter, and copy of purchase agreement or receipt
  • Check or money order payable to IDNR (see fee chart)
  • No tax return required however dealers may submit ST-556 tax forms with the watercraft application form

Used Watercraft - currently issued an Illinois registration number - Class 1 (jet skis/PWCs), Class 2, 3, 4 - purchased from an Illinois dealer or retailer
  • Completed watercraft application form – check TRANSFER/RENEWAL box
  • Original Illinois watercraft title or;  power of attorney form and if applicable, lien release letter
  • Check or money order payable to IDNR (see fee chart)
  • Dealer - ST-556 tax form;  Retailer - RUT-25 tax form and bill of sale
  • Check or money order payable to Dept of Revenue for tax amount due

Used Watercraft - currently issued an Illinois registration number - Class 1 (EXCEPT jet skis/PWCs) - acquired from an individual 
  • Completed watercraft application form – check TRANSFER/RENEWAL box
  • Original Illinois watercraft title or;  power of attorney form and if applicable, lien release letter
  • Check or money order payable to IDNR (see fee chart)
  • No tax return required

Used Watercraft - currently issued an Illinois registration number - Class 1 (jet skis/PWCs), Class 2, 3, 4 - acquired from an individual  
  • Completed watercraft application form – check TRANSFER/RENEWAL box
  • Original Illinois watercraft title or;  power of attorney form and if applicable, lien release letter
  • Check or money order payable to IDNR (see fee chart)
  • RUT-75 tax form
  • Bill of Sale or purchase agreement
  • Check or money order payable to Dept of Revenue for tax amount due

Used Watercraft - currently issued an out-of-state registration number - Class 1 (EXCEPT jet skis/PWCs) - acquired from an individual 
 
  • Completed watercraft application form – check NEW box
  • Original out-of-state title (if titling state) or registration card (if non-titling state)
  • Check or money order payable to IDNR (see fee chart)
  • No tax return required

Used Watercraft - currently issued an out-of-state registration number - Class 1 (jet skis/PWCs), Class 2, 3, 4 - acquired from an individual  
  • Completed watercraft application form – check NEW box
  • Original out-of-state title (if titling state) or registration card (if non-titling state)
  • Check or money order payable to IDNR (see fee chart)
  • RUT-75 tax form
  • 2 Copies of Bill of Sale or purchase agreement
  • Check or money order payable to Dept of Revenue for tax amount due

Used Watercraft – USCG Documented Vessels changing to IL title - Class, 2, 3, & 4 - purchased from an Illinois dealer or retailer 
  • Completed watercraft application form – check NEW box
  • Copy of USCG Deletion Letter
  • Check or money order payable to IDNR (see fee chart)
  • Dealer - ST-556  tax form; retailer – RUT-25 tax form
  • Copy of bill of sale or purchase agreement
  • Check or money order payable to Dept of Revenue for tax amount due

Used Watercraft – USCG Documented Vessels changing to IL title - Class, 2, 3, & 4 - acquired from an individual
  • Completed watercraft application form – check NEW box
  • Copy of USCG Deletion Letter
  • Check or money order payable to IDNR (see fee chart)
  • RUT-75  tax form
  • 2 copies of bill of sale or purchase agreement
  • Check or money order payable to Dept of Revenue for tax amount due

Used Watercraft – USCG Documented Vessels changing to IL title - Class, 2, 3, & 4 - purchased from an out-of-state dealer or retailer
  • Completed watercraft application form – check NEW box
  • Copy of USCG Deletion Letter
  • Check or money order payable to IDNR (see fee chart)
  • RUT-25  tax form
  • 2 copies of bill of sale or purchase agreement
  • Check or money order payable to Dept of Revenue for tax amount due

Additional documents required when applicable:

  • Death Certificate
  • Small Estate Affidavit or Letter of Office (when not titled in joint tenancy)
  • Statement of Trust