Update September 21, 2015
Deer Accidentally Killed/Injured by Motor Vehicles and Methods other than Lawful Hunting
There is no limit to the number of deer that may be possessed under these circumstances. No part of a deer so killed can be bartered or sold.
Except for law enforcement officers in the performance of their duties it is illegal to kill a deer:
- crippled by a collision with a motor vehicle.
- crippled by methods other than lawful hunting unless permission has been obtained from a Conservation Police Officer.
The State of Illinois is absolved of any and all liability associated with the handling or utilization of vehicle-killed deer and deer killed by methods other than lawful hunting. Motorists are also reminded to report deer-related traffic accidents to appropriate law enforcement agencies when such reporting is required.
Collision with a motor vehicle
An Illinois resident/driver of a motor vehicle involved in a vehicle-deer collision has priority in legally possessing white-tailed deer killed/injured as a result of a collision with a motor vehicle. If the driver does not take possession of the deer before leaving the collision scene, any citizen of Illinois who is not delinquent in child support may possess and transport the deer. Non-residents may not claim a road-killed deer. Individuals claiming such a deer must report the possession within 24 hours at www.dnr.illinois.gov
. Individuals without Internet access can report such possession by calling 217-782-6431 no later than 4:30 PM the next business day.
Killed/injured by methods other than lawful hunting or a vehicle/deer accident
Any individual finding a dead or crippled deer, other than those killed/injured in a vehicle/deer collision or legally taken by hunting methods, may not transport said deer parts until permission is obtained from a Conservation Police Officer. Permission will be granted if it is determined that the person requesting possession did not illegally kill or injure the deer. When retained, the head/antler and hide shall be properly tagged with an irremovable tag obtained from a Conservation Police Officer. These tags must remain attached as long as the head/antler or hide remains in the green state, or while in a commercial manufacturing process.
Update September 10, 2015
Deer hunters: The use of crossbows by youth for deer hunting is allowable if the following conditions are met:
“If the user possesses a valid Youth Hunting License and Archery Deer Hunting Permit, and remains under the direct supervision of a parent, grandparent, or guardian who is 21 years of age or older and who possesses a valid Illinois hunting license and valid archery deer permit. Accompaniment by a parent, grandparent, or guardian shall serve as evidence that express permission of an adult was granted to obtain the deer permit [520 ILCS 5/2.5a and 520 ILCS 5/3.1-9].”