Skip to Main Content


  1. Illinois DNR
  2. Conservation
  3. Natural Heritage
  4. Endangered Species Permits

Endangered Species Permits 

Permits for Possession of Endangered and Threatened Species 
  1. There are four permit types: Scientific, Educational, Zoological/Botanical, and Limited Possession (Hobbyist). See below.
  2. Application for permit for possession of endangered and threatened species
  3. Email application form, additional material, and questions to : 
  4. Annual report forms and additional permit infomation.


There are Four Permit Types