Illinois Department of Natural Resources

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
July 22, 2010

Dewitt County Man arrested for Alleged Animal Torture and other Wildlife Violations

CLINTON, IL – The Illinois Conservation Police have arrested a Clinton, Illinois man after a grand jury indictment that included one felony count of animal torture and numerous other Illinois animal and wildlife code violations.   Indicted was 21 year old Clay A. Reeves, who allegedly ran over several deer with an all-terrain vehicle (ATV) in February of this year.

Reeves was indicted by a grand jury today and a warrant was issued for his arrest.  He was taken into custody without incident by Illinois Conservation Police and was transported to the DeWitt County Jail, where he was held on $15,000 bond.

Reeves is alleged to have used an ATV to run down several white tailed deer on Clinton Power Station property in DeWitt County.  An injured deer was observed by a citizen who called the Conservation Police, leading to the discovery of seven deer that had been run over.

The indictment was the result of a nearly six-month investigation by the Conservation Police with help from the residents of DeWitt County and the Clinton Crime Stoppers.  The Illinois State Police Forensic Science Unit, DeWitt County Sheriff's Department and the Clinton Police also provided administrative support and assistance.

Reeves is also being charged with several other violations including:

  • 7 counts: Cruel treatment of animals (Class A misdemeanor)
  • 7 counts: Unlawful taking of deer by use or aid of a motor vehicle (Class A misdemeanor)
  • 7 counts: Unlawfully pursue or intentionally harass deer by use or aid of Motor Vehicle (Class A misdemeanor)
  • 7 counts: Unlawful taking of deer by use of lights connected to vehicle (Class A Misdemeanor)
  • 7 counts: Unlawful taking of deer, illegal methods (Class B misdemeanor)
  • 7 counts: Unlawful taking of deer during closed season (Class B misdemeanor)
  • 1 count: Criminal trespass to real property (Class B misdemeanor)
  • 7 counts: Hunting without permission (Class B misdemeanor)
  • 7 counts: Hunting between one half-hour after sunset and one half-hour before sunrise (Class A misdemeanor)

*A Class 3 felony is punishable by 2-5 years in jail and/or a $25,000 fine

*Class A misdemeanors are punishable by six months to one year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines

*Class B misdemeanors are punishable by one to six months in jail and up to $1,500 in fines